Research guides: AHLT 104: Professional Communication for Allied Health: Books, ebooks and media

Physical books

To help you browse the Library shelves, try the following areas:

BF 1-839	Psychology	How call numbers work All print or paper copies of books in the library are assigned a call number, usually found on the book spine. The call number represents what the book is about and acts like the book's address on the library's shelves. Because books on the shelves are arranged in call number order, you will find books on similar subjects shelved near each other At the Camosun Library, we use the Library of Congress (LC) classification system. LC call numbers are made up of letters and numbers and look something like this: QM 8923 W6 L36 2014 c.3 Read the call number from left to right. The first part of a call number, QM 8923, consists of a combination of one or two letters and a number that indicates a specific subject area. The next part, W6 L36, identifies a specific title within the range of books on that topic, 2014 is the publication date, and c.3 indicates it is the third copy in the library.
HV 1551-3024	Disabilities
QM	Human Anatomy
QP	Human Physiology
R	Medicine
R 123	Medical Terminology
RC	Medical Imaging & Sonography
RG	Gynecology & Obstetrics
RM	Drugs & Pharmacology
RT	Nursing

Films

Streaming database

Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
Image-based database with three-dimensional (3D) interactive models of human anatomy and physiology. Includes zoom options, image layering, quizzes, downloading and short videos.

Example physical DVDs

Communication toolkit for health care professionals
Call Number: R 118 C68 2011 (Interurban)
Effective communication is an essential, core component of health care.
Measuring vital signs
Call Number: RC 954 N87 2014 NO.16 (Interurban)
Learn and master the art of measuring vital signs—temperature, pulse, respiration, blood pressure, and pain. These routine clinical skills are the bedrock of resident care, crucial for maintaining and promoting overall health.
The right words at the right time
Call Number: HF 5415.5 R54 2013 (Interurban)
Learn customer service recovery essentials—empathy, active listening, and effective communication—for confident, compassionate care in real-world scenarios.
Safe patient handling
Call Number: RT 87 T72 S24 2010 (Interurban)
This video discusses reducing work-related injuries by encouraging staff to prepare by considering a few simple steps prior to performing everyday work tasks.

ebooks

ebook databases

Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Over 700 ebooks on a variety of topics. Sign in using your Camosun computer account to access additional features.
eBook Nursing Collection This link opens in a new window
An EBSCO collection featuring 550 selected, quality materials that focus on the needs of nursing professionals, including clinical guides, evidence-based practice manuals, practical handbooks and professional growth titles.

More information

Ebooks: Finding and using them (Guide)
A guide to finding and using ebooks at Camosun College library.

Example ebooks

Health Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion: Context, Controversies, and Solutions
Beyond disparities, this text addresses social justice issues, emphasizing solutions and offering new chapters on urban education impact and the elderly.
A Proposed Framework for Integration of Quality Performance Measures for Health Literacy, Cultural Competence, and Language Access Services
Explore the integration of health literacy, cultural competency, and language access services for equitable healthcare. This publication summarizes a workshop on quality performance measures for comprehensive healthcare delivery.
Caring for and Understanding Latinx Patients in Health Care Settings
Enhance your understanding of Latinx health challenges in the US with this concise guide. Addressing language barriers, cultural nuances, and fears around immigration, it equips healthcare professionals to provide culturally sensitive and inclusive care.
Clinician's Guide to LGBTQIA+ Care : Cultural Safety and Social Justice in Primary, Sexual, and Reproductive Healthcare
Empower your healthcare approach with this groundbreaking resource on health equity. Addressing LGBTQIA populations with cultural sensitivity, it navigates the complex intersection of racial, economic, and reproductive justice.

Encyclopedias

Etiquette and taboos around the world : a geographic encyclopedia of social and cultural customs by Ken Taylor (Editor); Victoria Williams (Editor)
Call Number: BJ 1815 E86 2017 (Lansdowne)
An interesting resource for learning about the cultural differences and characteristics of people across the globe, this encyclopedia covers the "do's" and "don'ts" of a breadth of countries and major ethnic groups.
New Encyclopedia of Islam by Cyril Glasse
Call Number: BP 40 G42 2013 (Lansdowne)
The New Encyclopedia of Islam is unique as a single-volume work that encompasses the beliefs, practices, history, and culture of the Islamic world.
Religion : a clinical guide for nurses
Call Number: RT 85.2 R35 2012 (Interurban)
Navigate the intersection of healthcare and diverse religious beliefs with this invaluable resource. Covering over 20 prevalent religions, it offers concise insights into their history, beliefs, and practices.

Suggested search terms

These search terms can be used to search Single Search for books, articles, ebooks & videos. Combine search terms to find the best results. This is NOT a comprehensive list of terms you can use. Don't forget to explore synonyms.

The books below can also be used to find more synonyms or related keywords.

Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology by Carol R. Ember (Editor); Melvin Ember (Editor)
ISBN: 9780306477546
Publication Date: 2003-12-31
Medical practitioners and the ordinary citizen are becoming more aware that we need to understand cultural variation in medical belief and practice.
Britannica Encyclopedia of World Religions
Embark on a comprehensive journey through the world's religions with this guide. Explore entries on religious movements, historical figures, sacred sites, and rituals.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Each volume is organized by continent, covering history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life, and more.