Music

Hip Hop

North Side Hip Hop Archives - Digital collection of Canadian hip-hop history and culture.

Hiphop Archive - Web archive from Harvard research institute committed to supporting scholarship about hip-hop and related activities.

Cornell Hip Hop Collection - Portions of Cornell's archives, digitally preserved and made accessible to the public. 

Hip-Hop Radio Archive - Archive aims to digitize, preserve, share, and contextualize recordings of hip-hop radio from the 1980s and 1990s from commercial, college, community, and pirate stations of all sizes, telling the stories of the shows and the people that made them. 

Punk

Vancouver Punk Collection - Simon Fraser University - SFU collection of Vancouver punk posters, periodicals, music, and ephemera. Includes a genealogy of Vancouver punk bans. 

Punk Rock comes to Canada - CBC Search containing radio and television interviews related to punk rock in Canada.

Detroit Punk Archive - Interviews, images, and media resources related to punk rock in Detroit (and beyond). 

Punk Flyers - Cornell University Library - Digital collection offering over 2,000 images of flyers created in the punk scene.

Heavy Metal

Map of Metal - Map/timeline of New Wave of British Heavy Metal.

MetalCrypt.com - List of metal sub-genres with brief descriptions.

NWOBHM Encyclopedia - Encyclopedia of New Wave of British Heavy Metal.

Encyclopaedia Metallum - Website featuring discographies and reviews for over 107,000 bands.

Metal Injection - Website dedicated to all things Metal. Includes videos, podcasts, reviews and more.

Canadian content

LiveVictoria.com - Open-access resource for musicians and music lovers in Victoria, BC. Includes concert listings, audio and video media, listings of musicians and bands searchable by location and genre. 

IndigenousMusic.ca - Manitoba-based website providing articles, media, and information about Indigenous music in Manitoba and beyond. Part of the Indigenous Music Development Program helping First Nation peoples, Metis peoples and Inuit develop sustainable careers in the music industry.

Music, Films, Videos and Sound Recordings - Library and Archives Canada - Extensive collection of Canadian musical and audiovisual heritage including biographies, databases, and online exhibitions.

Juno Awards - Official website of the Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences Juno Awards. The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) is a not-for-profit organization created to preserve and enhance the Canadian music industry and to contribute toward higher artistic and industry standards.

Joni Mitchell Transcription Archive - Sub-section of Joni Mitchell's official website, features guitar and piano transcriptions of many of Mitchell's songs – including dulcimer tabs, bass guitar notation, and lead sheets. greater website includes song lyrics, articles, and primary resources/ephemera from throughout Mitchell's career.