Thousands of full-text articles can be accessed online using the library's electronic resources. Databases (or indexes) such EBSCO's Academic Search Complete, Wilson Web or JSTOR provide access to an extensive range of scholarly publications. To make sure you only see scholarly articles in your results, you can always choose to limit your search to Peer Reviewed articles.
The library also provides online access to many magazines. CBCA, Canadian Major Dailies or EBSCO's MASUltra are good sources of relevant magazine articles.
The library subsribes to a number of journals and magazines. You can find them in the periodical area at both the Lansdowne and Interurban library. You can borrow journals for 7 days or photocopy the articles you need. The most recent issue cannot be borrowed.
Database Tips:
All topics, academic focus, some Canadian content.
CBCA Complete includes scholarly journal articles, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers and magazines.
Business, marketing, economics, some Canadian content. Journals, magazines, some online books, company profiles, and market, industry and country reports. Includes over 100,000 videos on management, business and economics.
A digital archive of over 200 academic journals and primary sources in the fields of Arts and Humanities. Often this is the only place to find these journals. Quality resource for historical research. Includes images from ARTstor content as of July 2024.
All topics; covers major daily Canadian newspapers including the Times-Colonist.
If Camosun library does not have a specific article or book that you want, library staff can request it from another library.
Interlibrary loan service is provided to support research and study undertaken at Camosun and is available free to registered students, instructors and staff.
To place a request:
NOTE: There is a limit of 10 ILL requests per student per semester. There are also cost limits for individual items requested should there be a fee attached. Please review our policy should you have any questions.
"Google Scholar aims to sort articles the way researchers do, weighing the full text of each article, the author, the publication in which the article appears, and how often the piece has been cited in other scholarly literature. The most relevant results will always appear on the first page."
What is included in Google Scholar?
Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Google Scholar is a great place to scan across a lot of sources at once, but it doesn't know what you have rights to access through your own library sources. It might take you to a page that asks you to pay for the article you want. Please talk to a librarian before you pay for articles online!
By using the link to Google Scholar provided by the Camosun Library, you'll get links to the fulltext when the library subscribes to the journal, if it is from an open access journal, or if the author has posted the fulltext on the open web. TIP: when you are at the search box in Google Scholar, if you hover over the down arrow on the right, you can go directly to an advanced search page.
Need help with your research? Use AskAway, a chat-based library help service.
