Research guides: ELC: Early Learning and Care: Reference Sources

Using Reference Books

Encyclopedias, biographical dictionaries and other reference sources are great for getting background information about your topic. They can provide the basic information you need to start your research and often, a list of suggested readings.

They provide the well-known facts: definitions, major dates, key contributions.

They are trustworthy and reliable, giving you the correct information you need for presentations and research reports.

If you don't know very much about your topic, or you're just starting your research, begin with these reference books.

Other Resources

A to Zoo by Rebecca L. Thomas; Carolyn W. Lima
Publication Date: 2014-06-01
The beloved favorite of children's librarians everywhere, A to Zoo provides easy subject access that helps librarians build, enhance, and organize storytime programs and reading lists, as well as to help them develop their collections and support curricular needs. * Arranges 17,025 picture books for children preschool–grade 2 under a vast range of subjects to meet librarians', teachers', and parents' needs * Offers a user-friendly format that supports quick and easy discovery * Provides a versatile tool that has become the primary go-to reference for children's librarians
Early education curriculum : a child's connection to the world by Jackman, Hilda L.

Suggested Books for Background Information

Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children by Olivia N. Saracho (Editor); Bernard Spodek (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012
The Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children is the essential reference on research on early childhood education throughout the world. This singular resource provides a comprehensive overview of important contemporary issues as well as the information necessary to make informed judgments about these issues.
Key Concepts in Early Childhood Education and Care by Cathy Nutbrown
Publication Date: 2011
Key Concepts in Early Childhood Education and Care, Cathy Nutbrown's second edition, explains the key ideas and issues in Early Childhood clearly and concisely, keeping students up-to-date with the latest developments in the field.
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society
This 3-vol. set presents the social and cultural history of childhood from antiquity to the present. Children and Childhood examines this history through articles on education, parenting, child labor, economics, images of childhood, children's literature, play, toys and games, health, physiology, law, the criminal justice system and social welfare.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development by Brian Hopkins (Editor); Elena Geangu (Editor); Sally Linkenauger (Editor)
Publication Date: 2017
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development remains the most authoritative and accessible account of all aspects of child development. Written by an international team of experts, its comprehensive coverage includes everything from prenatal development to adolescence, pediatrics, theories and research methods, physical development, social and emotional development, perceptual and cognitive development, language development, psychopathology, and parenting.
Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health: Infancy Through Adolescence by Gale (Editor)
Call Number: ebook click for access
Publication Date: 2016
The third edition of The Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health is a completely updated edition that contains over 65 new entries with a total of 840 entries.