Psychology
BF712-724.85 Developmental psychology Including infant psychology, child psychology, adolescence, adulthood
Medicine
RC435-571 Psychiatry
RC475-489 Therapeutics. Psychotherapy
RC490-499 Hypnotism and hypnosis. Suggestion therapy
RC500-510 Psychoanalysis
RC512-569.5 Psychopathology
RC512-528 Psychoses
RC530-552 Neuroses
RC554-569.5 Personality disorders. Behavior problems including sexual problems, drug abuse, suicide, child abuse
RC569.7-571 Mental retardation. Developmental disabilities
You have several options to locate videos in this collection. You can:
1. Go directly to the Curio.ca site to search for content. You can navigate by CBC show, by collections and by channels.
2. Curio has grouped their content by category (subject) so you could link to any specific category by grabbing the category link when you click on it. Subject categories are: Arts, Health, Math, science & technology, Business, etc.
3. We also subscribe to the News in Review, a current event series for the classroom. A team selects the top 4 news stories and crafts a 15-minute documentary for each -- drawing on news reports from recent months.
We recommend that you link to a Curio.ca video in D2L. You can also create video playlists for classroom use. See PDF handout below.
Search Curio.ca for these titles of interest:
Streaming video training database for early childhood care settings. Videos address challenging behaviors in children, promoting wellness, building enrollment, child assessment, supporting teacher performance and more.
Search Ed.Flicks for these videos of interest:
Attachment Theory and Research by
This volume showcases the latest theoretical and empirical work from some of the top scholars in attachment. Extending classic themes and describing important new applications, the book examines several ways in which attachment processes help explain how people think, feel, and behave in different situations and at different stages in the life cycle. Topics include the effects of early experiences on adult relationships; new developments in neuroscience and genetics; attachment orientations and parenting; connections between attachment and psychopathology, as well as health outcomes; and the relationship of attachment theory and processes to clinical interventions.
Becoming Who We Are by
What are the basic dimensions of temperament? How does temperament influence children's relationships to their physical and social worlds-and their behavior and adjustment across the lifespan? What are its biological underpinnings? From preeminent researcher Mary Rothbart, this work comprehensively examines the role of temperament in the development of personality and psychopathology. In a direct and readable style, Rothbart combines theory and research with everyday observations and clinical examples. She offers new insights on "difficult" children and reviews intervention programs that address temperamental factors in childhood problems.
Childhood Mental Health Disorders by
Childhood Mental Health Disorders is a comprehensive report, based on a thorough review of the literature, on the current effective use, sequencing, comparative risks/benefits, and integration of psychotropic medications and psychosocial interventions for children and adolescents. Acknowledging the complexity of these disorders and the need to individualize treatment, the volume is intended as a basic yet comprehensive framework for mental health providers. The disorders addressed include attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder, obsessive-compulsive disorder, autism and schizophrenia, and others.
Comprehensive Evidence-Based Interventions for Children and Adolescents by
A complete guide to evidence based interventions for children and adolescents The past decade has witnessed the development of numerous interventions proved to be highly effective; several treatments are now considered to be "well established" or "probably efficacious" interventions for children. Given the range of providers working with children-clinical psychologists, child psychiatrists, clinical social workers, school psychologists, and marriage and family therapists-this book is designed to provide all professionals the information they now need about the use of these evidence-based interventions (EBIs), as well as the evaluation criteria used to determine their efficacy in in meeting the mental health needs of children. Alfano and Beidel have assembled a team of experts to write the disorder chapters. Each chapter begins with an overview of the disorder then delves into evidence-based approaches to treatment, the impact of parental involvement, case-by-case modifications, progress measurement, and clinical examples. In overview chapters the editors cover: The role of development in treatment planning and implementation Dissemination of EBIs into school and community settings The use of controversial therapies with children Emerging methods of service delivery and access improvement Comprehensive Evidence Based Interventions for Children and Adolescents provides clinicians, researchers, and students alike with the theoretical, conceptual, and practical skills to provide children and adolescents with the best care possible.
Explaining Abnormal Behavior by
Highly readable and accessible, this book describes how research in cognitive science is transforming the way scientists and clinicians think about abnormal behavior. Bruce Pennington draws on work from multiple disciplines to identify compelling links among psychiatric, neurodevelopmental, and neurological disorders that are not generally studied together. Presenting cutting-edge work on the brain systems involved in key domains of neuropsychological functioning, Pennington sheds light on acquired neurological disorders like aphasia and amnesia, as well as the development of such conditions as schizophrenia, depression, dyslexia, autism, and intellectual disability. The book also reveals how the analysis of both typical and atypical brain-behavior relationships can contribute to a neural explanation of the self and consciousness.
Early Intervention for Autism Spectrum Disorders by
This book is the first in a series aimed at addressing the rapidly expanding field of assessment and treatment of children with mental health issues and/or development disabilities. Autism: Early Childhood Interventions is aimed at the researcher of practitioner who works with those young children with Autism Spectrum Disorder. In addition to covering major research developments in differential diagnosis and early intervention, the author's provide a critical review and analysis of core concept that define this area. The first chapter of the book reviews the development of definitions of autism along with early methods for diagnosing this area of developmental disabilities. Chapter two covers some of the most discussed theories of etiology along with a review of prevalence and the author's opinions on why the number of children diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder has increased markedly in recent years. A chapter on the most commonly used assessment methods and a critique of the psychometric properties of each is followed by three chapters on treatment. We have broken the treatment chapters down based on type of intervention. The first treatment chapter covers specific target behaviors or small sets of behaviors. A second chapter covers training for the packaged comprehensive treatment models with particular emphasis on the TEACCH, UCLA-YAP and the University of California Santa Barbara Autism Research and Training Program. Each of these programs gives a unique perspective on treatment for these young children. The final treatment chapter covers the recent developments in pharmacotherapy for autism spectrum disorder, with a critical analysis and review of the data. We hope the overview presented proves to be of interest to researchers and practitioners in the field. We present one perspective on this exciting and innovative area of research and treatment. Hopefully, it will serve as one useful source to those who wish to provide the most up to date evidence based intervention to these young developmentally challenged children. *The first of a new series that is intended to expand knowledge of the assessment and treatment of children with developmental disabilities and/or mental health issues *Provides definitions, addresses diagnosis, intervention, and treatments *Of particular importance to researchers and practitioners who work with children who have been diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder
A Collaborative Approach to Eating Disorders by
While many aspects of eating disorders remain a mystery, there is growing evidence that collaboration is an essential element for treatment success. This book emphasises and explains the importance of family involvement as part of a unified team approach towards treatment and recovery. A Collaborative Approach to Eating Disorders draws on up-to-date evidence based research as well as case studies and clinical vignettes to illustrate the seriousness of eating disorders and the impact on both the sufferer and their loved ones. Areas of discussion include: current research including genetic factors, socio-cultural influences and early intervention clinical applications such as family based dialectical and cognitive behavioural treatments treatment developments for both adolescents and adults with a range of eating disorders building collaborative alliances at all levels for treatment and ongoing recovery. With contributions from key international figures in the field, this book will be a valuable resource for students and mental health professionals including family doctors, clinicians, nurses, family therapists, dieticians and social workers.
