CINAHL Ultimate provides more than 1,300 full text journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU models and research instruments. Includes Canadian and international full-text non-open access journals
CBCA Complete includes scholarly journal articles, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers and magazines.
A statistics portal that integrates data on over 60,000 topics from over 22,000 sources. Find statistics, marketing information, digital markets, country reports and industry studies.
From the U.S. National Library of Medicine. In addition to MEDLINE articles, you have access to PubMed Central papers (full text articles deposited to promote open access), articles that are “in process” i.e., prior to being indexed with MeSH terms, and articles submitted by publishers, “ahead of print.”
Primary research is information presented in its original form without interpretation by other researchers. While it may acknowledge previous studies or sources, it always presents original thinking, reports on discoveries, or new information about a topic.
Primary Sources include:
For most research articles, you'll find all of these elements as headings and subheadings:
Secondary sources are best identified by their use of primary articles as source material.
Secondary sources, especially systematic reviews, are written under specific guidelines and protocols and often include methods sections and abstracts. So the presence of these sections are not necessarily an indication of a primary source.
Secondary Sources include:
The term grey literature refers to research that is either unpublished or has been published in non-commercial form.
Examples of grey literature include:
Government reports
Policy statements and issues papers
Conference proceedings
Pre-prints and post-prints of articles
Theses and dissertations
Research reports
Geological and geophysical surveys
Maps
Newsletters and bulletins
Fact sheets.
Academics, pressure groups, and private companies are only some of the sources of grey literature.
Much grey literature is of high quality.
Grey literature is often the best source of up-to-date research on certain topics, such as rural poverty or the plight of unhoused people in Victoria.
In the health sciences, grey literature is vital for developing a more complete view of research on a particular topic and for producing systematic reviews and other rigorous approaches to evidence synthesis. Grey literature can be a good source for data, statistics and very recent research results.
Because there's no publisher-enforced limitation on length, these reports can be much more detailed than the journal literature. They can help to offset issues related to publication bias, such as:
Publication lag Results of studies may appear in grey literature, such as conference proceedings, a year or more before they appear in a peer-reviewed publication.
Positive result bias Study results that show a negative or no effect are published in scholarly journals less often than those with a positive effect. Those negative results may be found by reviewing the grey literature.
Grey literature is particularly important in the area of health policy, where health technology assessments, economic evaluations, health systems impact assessments and comparative effectiveness research are of special interest.
