Primary sources present information which has not been previously published in any form in any other source. These sources may evolve through either formal or informal channels of communication. Scholarly journals, patents, and technical reports are examples of primary literature disseminated through published sources. Other primary sources, such a laboratory notebooks, memoranda, email or listservs, are not usually published, but are nevertheless an important source.
Informal communication involves person-to-person interactions between scientists, often between members of a cohesive group of researchers which is sometimes referred to as an "invisible college." This informal communication has the advantages of timeliness, selectivity, completeness, and development of personal rapport. Disadvantages include the possibility that researchers become too exclusive and miss important advances made by others outside their network, or that young researchers may have difficulty gaining access to the network.
1. Laboratory Notebook
Bound books in which scientists record the progress of their research. Important in obtaining patents because they can be used to prove when and where events took place or discoveries were made.
1.1 Where to find:
Laboratory notebooks are owned by the organization for which a scientist works. Access is limited to approved individuals within the organization.
2. Letters Journals
Provide rapid publication of preliminary communications of fundamental research. Some journals include letters and short articles of this kind in the same issue as full-length research articles.
2.1 Where to find:
Letters journals are indexed in library journal search tools.
3. Conference Papers and Proceedings
Conference papers are reports of research that are read at a conference meeting.
Proceedings are collections of conference papers that are published in a single volume.
Papers presented at conferences may or may not be published after the meeting.
3.1 Where to find:
Most disciplinary indexing tools index conference papers. Often only the abstract appears in print. Papers that are published as proceedings are more likely to be indexed.
Sometimes the full text can only be obtained from the author.
4. Dissertations and Theses
Theses are research papers required for some Master's degrees.
Dissertations are presentations of original research written by a candidate for a doctoral degree.
Theses and dissertations serve as a source of data that has been carefully researched by the candidate, and reviewed by a faculty committee.
4.1 Where to find:
Dissertations and theses from the US, Canada, and European countries are indexed in a special database.
If you are looking for a specific thesis or dissertation, begin by searching the library of the university where that thesis or dissertation was completed.
Full text of these documents is sometimes available via Interlibrary loan. Most are available for purchase either in print or digital microform format from University Microfilms, Inc.
See a librarian for assistance in obtaining dissertations and theses.
5. Technical Reports
Technical reports are prepared to describe the progress of research and development projects. This research is usually conducted by government agencies or supported by government grants or contracts. If the research continues over a period of years, the reports may be published in a series.
Technical reports may appear in different reference formats, including proceedings, transactions, annual reports, or bibliographies.
5.1 Where to find:
Many disciplinary article databases index technical reports. See a librarian for assistance in obtaining technical reports.
6. Patents
A patent is an agreement with a government granting a person or organization ownership of a design or process for a designated period of time within that country.
Most industrialized countries award patents, but they do not recognize patents from other countries.
Patents usually include drawings and descriptive text.
6.1 Where to find:
Patents are indexed by in online databases devoted entirely to patents.
Patent documents are available from the Canadian Intellectual Property Office (http://www.cipo.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/cipointernet-internetopic.nsf/eng/Home?OpenDocument). See a librarian for assistance in obtaining patent documents.
7. Journal Articles
Journals are publications that are issued on a regular schedule and that present detailed reports of current research in a particular field.
Some journals cover research in all areas of science and technology, while others concentrate on a narrow subject area.
The importance of science journals lies in their social, archival and dissemination roles in scientific communication.
All articles submitted to scholarly scientific journals are subjected to a peer review process which helps to maintain the quality of the scientific literature.
7.1 Where to find:
Citations to articles published in scientific journals are located using print or online indexing and abstracting services. Journals are available by subscription from the publisher. An increasing number of journals are now available in electronic format. For more information on locating journals at Camosun College, go to the Articles & Databases tab on the library home page
-- used with permission from The College of Wooster Libraries