|
Library Home page |
|
|---|---|
| Mobile Site | |
| General Info rmation | |
| Library Branches | We have 2 branches. Lansdowne and Interurban. https://camosun.ca/services/library/contact-hours |
| Service Hours | https://camosun.ca/services/library/contact-hours |
| Library Policies |
Most policies can be found here: https://camosun.ca/services/library/policies.html |
| Library Floor Plans |
|
| Circulation / Checkout / Loans Phone Numbers |
Lansdowne Library 250-370-3619 Interurban Library 250-370-3828 |
| Reference Desk Phone Numbers |
Lansdowne: 250-370-3622 Call 250-370-3619 if there is no answer at other numbers For other research help options consult the AskALibrarian page. |
| Email address for Reference Questions |
Email address for Circulation / Checkout library@camosun.ca |
| Phone Number for Text Message Reference Service | |
| Resources & Services | |
| Library Catalogue |
https://camosun.catalogue.libraries.coop/ |
| Library Search | We use EBSCO Discovery Service (locally called Single Search). Updated to new UI Aug. 14, 2024. It is available as the default search widget on the library home page; also as an Advanced search under the Search tab page (the advanced search option is a link under the search widget on this page): https://research.ebsco.com/c/vsabqu?acr_values=ip,guest |
| Indexes & Databases |
By title A-Z: https://camosun.libguides.com/az/databases Limit to article databases only: https://camosun.libguides.com/az/databases?t=28397 By subject: subject access to our databases is through the LibGuides A-Z page. You can select subjects from a drop down menu. We have a Troubleshooting eresources guide that outlines known issues, scheduled maintenance, etc. |
| Institutional Repository / Digital Collections | CCspace Institutional Repository |
| Google Scholar link | Camosun's Google Scholar access |
| Database Authentication |
Off campus login for licensed resources is via EZproxy. Same as Computer Account (Student number 'C012345' from ID card and password). |
| Subject Guides | Subject guides https://camosun.libguides.com/index.php |
| Citation Guides |
Citation guides https://camosun.libguides.com/cite |
| Instruction | Within the Faculty services guide https://camosun.libguides.com/classes |
| List of Librarians | There is a subject liaison librarian list here: https://camosun.ca/services/library/ask-librarian |
| Reserves | This link automatically puts you in the Reserves section of the catalogue. Search by course name or number. https://camosun.catalogue.libraries.coop/eg/opac/course_search |
| Interlibrary Loans |
https://camosun.ca/services/library/borrow Article request form (online submission): https://camosun.libwizard.com/f/ILL-article Book request form (online submission): https://camosun.libwizard.com/f/ILL-book |
| eJournals |
We use EBSCO's Publication Finder. Journals & magazines search Updated to the new UI Aug. 14, 2024. |
| Print Journals | The library has a small number of print magazines which can be borrowed for 4 weeks. Check the catalogue record for the most accurate holdings. Journals are shelved alphabetically by title. There are no call numbers. |
| Technical Help |
Troubleshooting eresources guide: https://camosun.libguides.com/troubleshooting Problem report form (direct link): https://camosun.libwizard.com/f/trouble-report Email our general library account: library@camosun.ca or phone during opening hours. Depending on the nature of the technical problem, the ITS department can be contacted during the day (for printing, domain account passwords): https://camosun.ca/services/its |
| Writing /Tutoring Centre Contact |
https://camosun.ca/services/writing-centre/ Other help centres (Math, ESL, etc.) https://camosun.ca/services/academic-supports/help-centres |
| WriteAway link | Camosun College WriteAway service |
| * NEW * Generative AI Guidelines |
Artificial Intelligence: A Guide for Students Currently, there is no institutional-wide policy; students are encouraged to check with each instructor for their policies around AI. |
| eResources Emergency Contact |
Gwenda Bryan, Systems & Discovery Librarian: bryang@camosun.ca OR libraryresearch@camosun.ca Problem report form (direct link): https://camosun.libwizard.com/f/trouble-report |
| Borrowing Information | |
| Library Cards |
Student cards are also library cards. https://camosun.ca/services/library/id-cards.html |
| Loan Period | https://camosun.ca/services/library/borrow |
| Holds / Recalls / Requests |
Use the Place Hold option in the library catalogue or EDS. Library catalogue (OPAC) My Account uses Camosun ID/ domain account. |
| Renewals |
Regular loans can be renewed twice. Reserves cannot be renewed. Eligible items will be automatically renewed. Refer to the link below for other options. https://camosun.ca/services/library/borrowing-materials.html#renewals |
| Fines / Penalties | https://camosun.ca/services/library/borrowing-materials.html |
| Borrowing Policies |
https://camosun.ca/services/library/borrowing-materials.html |
| Library Account Information |
Use Camosun domain account (aka myCamosun). |
| After hours book returns |
Interurban library has a stand alone metal book return outside the Campus Centre building to the right of the entrance off Interurban Road and one at the 'back" of the same building. Lansdowne library has a stand alone metal book return outside the Library entrance. |
| Equipment & Facilities | |
| Internet Access | Wireless Access |
| Wireless Access |
https://camosun.ca/services/its/wireless Password reset station for student domains: https://password.camosun.ca |
| Photocopiers |
https://camosun.ca/services/library/computers-study-space Our ITS department implemented cloud printing with PaperCut. Students are encouraged to ask for help setting a PIN at the Technical Support (LAN) or Library Services (INT) desks. |
| Printers |
https://camosun.ca/services/library/computers-study-space Our ITS department implemented cloud printing with PaperCut. Students are encouraged to ask for help setting a PIN at the Technical Support (LAN) or Library Services (INT) desks. |
| Microfilm / Microfiche | Not available. |
| Meeting / Study Rooms | Both campuses have group study rooms that students can book online at https://camosun.ca/services/library/computers-study-space |
| Computer Labs |
Campus computer info: https://camosun.ca/campus-computer-labs Library desktop computers are available on a drop-in basis - they cannot be reserved. Guest access is available during non-peak times. The Library lends laptops for 24-hour and 1-week loan periods. Loans are made on a first-come-first-served basis. Students must visit the Library Services Desk in-person and present their Camosun ID to borrow one. Please note: laptop lending changed August 2024; we no longer have semester long loans unless the student is registered for the Adult Upgrading Grant (AUG). AUG laptop loan information: laptops@camosun.ca |
| Campus Information | |
| Academic Calendar | Program and course calendars: https://camosun.ca/programs-courses |
| Class Timetable |
Possible to search without having to login at: https://colss-prod.ec.camosun.ca/Student/Courses |
| Exam Schedules | Guest access to MyCamosun allows you to see current course offerings and relevant exam schedules. |
| Campus Maps | https://camosun.ca/about/our-campuses |
| Campus website Map | Not available. |
| Campus Security Contact |
250-370-3075 or 3075 from a Camosun landline First aid direct: Interurban: 250-507-3889 Lansdowne: 250-507-3046 |
| Other Resources | |
| AskAway Local Coordinator(s) |
Rebekah Prette PretteR@camosun.ca |
| Back-up Phone Number | Try the Research Help Desk at Lansdowne: 250-370-3622 or the Library Services Desk at 250-370-3619. |
| Library Staff FAQ | |
| Anything else useful for AskAwayers? | |
Last reviewed & updated October 22, 2024