Research guides: MENG: Mechanical Engineering: Selected Websites

Report writing & communicating

Report writing & communication

Engineering Communication by David Ingre; Robert Basil
Call Number: TA 158.5 I53 2017

Engineering technical reports
From Colorado State University
Communicating as an engineer
Working in a term, doing presentations, etc.
Writing guidelines for engineering & science students
These guidelines contain advice, examples, and exercises for common writing and speaking assignments in engineering.
Online handbook - from the Engineering Communication Program
From the U of Toronto. Includes types/parts of reports, oral communication, etc.
Civil engineering lab reports
Both external & internal reports that cover format, data and more.

Patents

Canadian Patents Database - Canadian Intellectual Property Office
Searchable database - patents from 1920 to present.
A guide to patents - Canadian Intellectual Property Office
Provides an introduction to patents and patenting procedures.
Espacenet
An international patents database from the European Patent Office - can limit your search to specific geographic areas, language, etc.
United States Patent & Trademark Office database
Search for registered Patents or applications.

Associations & Organizations

Engineers Canada Exam Syllabi
Examination syllabi represent the body of knowledge typically covered
in similar accredited engineering programs in Canada in a particular discipline of engineering.
APEGBC - Association of Professional Engineers & Geoscientists of BC
APEGBC "has created several resources to assist you as a student and ease the transition to professional membership."
Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering
“A society that brings together all mechanical engineering personnel, and engineers in other disciplines with interest in mechanical engineering.”
Federation of Canadian Municipalities
American Society Of Mechanical Engineers
U.S. professional organization
The Institution of Mechanical Engineers
U.K. professional engineering association
SAE - Society of Automotive Engineers International
Resource for technical information and expertise used in designing, building, maintaining, and operating self-propelled vehicles.
National Institute of Standards & Technology - Publications
American Concrete Association
Produce technical documents, reports, guides, etc. on the best use of concrete.
American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM)
Establish standards for materials, systems and services.
Engineers Without Borders - Canada
Canadian Machinery Vibration Association
CMVA/ACVM is a non-profit association whose fields of interest include machinery dynamics and all aspects of condition monitoring and predictive maintenance of machinery, especially vibration monitoring and analysis.

American Society for Engineering Education

ASEE Annual Conference paper repository, with papers going back to 1995, facilitates the archiving, searching, and citing of papers within the ASEE conference. ASEE will be assigning a digital object identifier to each paper presented at the 2015 annual conference and is examining options for doing so for all papers going back to 1995

Advanced Search option https://peer.asee.org/advanced_search?visible=true

MENG: Mechanical Engineering

BC Building Codes Online

Staying up-to-date

Web Resources

Report writing & communicating

Patents

Associations & Organizations

American Society for Engineering Education