The purpose of the reserve collection is to allow controlled access to a limited number of items for the greatest number of students. The collection consists of materials that are essential to a course. Many students depend on this service. Borrowing textbooks for many is a question of affordability, for others it can be a convenience.
Publishers often provide a free copies of a textbook to an instructor. Those copies can be given to the library for inclusion in the reserve collection. Textbooks that are marked as "Instructor use" "Pre-publication" "Review Copy" etc. cannot be added to the library collection.
The library purchases textbooks on a limited and selective basis:.
Reserve loans are usually short term, 2 hours or 24 hours to allow for maximum use. In response to the current pandemic, all reserve loans were extended to 72 hours, with additional copies of high-demand items purchased to allow greater access by students.
The online guide Library Services for Faculty provides instructions on how to have a book or other materials added to the reserve collection.
The library provides films for classroom use by instructors.
To reserve items place a hold via the library catalogue or email your request: Lansdowne: firstname.lastname@example.org (250-370-3607) or Interurban: email@example.com (250-370-4998)
Due to COVID19 restrictions the media viewing rooms in the library are not currently available. Faculty can book classrooms for on campus viewing via Room Bookings. Faculty should confirm with ITS that there is compatible AV equipment in their desired classroom.
Camosun Library subscribes to streaming video databases that specialize in educational, instructional and documentary film. You can use these online resources in your class.
Please note: Screening content from personal subscriptions to online streaming services such as Netflix and iTunes in class is a breach of both copyright and user agreements.