Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Camosun College library databases
For a comprehensive list of the electronic resources subscribed to by Camosun College Library see the Databases A-Z list.
Camosun Art History Databases:
Art & Architecture Source (formerly Art Source)
Indexes almost 400 international art publications.
A digital image collection with more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.
Oxford Art Online
Grove Art features entries on artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, movements, locations, and periods.
Academic Search Complete
All topics, including history, science, and art, academic focus, some Canadian content.
Over 200 academic journals in the fields of Arts and Humanities. Good for historical research (including art.) Limit to Article to avoid book reviews.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present, including social history and some art history.
Google Scholar @ Camosun
Search scholarly literature as a Camosun user. Use the "Find it at Camosun" link to access licensed fulltext. (Off campus users may need to adjust their "Library Links" under Google Scholar Settings). NOTE: Many publishers are providing temporary & free access to select journal titles that will show in your GS results.
Fine Arts Museum of San Francisco
Over 16,5000 images of prints, drawings, photographs, accessories, costumes, books, ceramics, etc.
"The key goal of The Commons is to share hidden treasures from the world's public photography archives."
Los Angeles County Museum of Art Collections Online
"LACMA is the largest art museum in the western United States, with a collection of more than 142,000 objects that illuminate 6,000 years of artistic expression across the globe." Thousands of images are available online.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
"Explore 884,351 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections. This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more."
Worldimages (California State University)
"The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It contains approximately 100,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery."
Find Articles & Books with Single Search
InterLibrary Loans (ILLs)
If Camosun library does not have a specific article or book that you want, library staff can request it from another library.
Interlibrary loan service is provided to support research and study undertaken at Camosun and is available free to registered students, instructors and staff.
To place a request:
- book (temporarily suspended)
NOTE: There is a limit of 10 ILL requests per student per semester. There are also cost limits for individual items requested.